Officers & Affiliates

The WCBS is affiliated with The North American Conference on British Studies (NACBS), a scholarly society dedicated to all aspects of the study of British civilization.

WCBS Officers: Contact Information

Andrew Muldoon
Department of History
Metropolitan State University of Denver
Denver, CO 80217-3362
(303) 352-4422

Immediate Past President
Christopher Frank
Department of History
456 Fletcher Argue Building
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg MB   R3T 5V5  CANADA     (204) 474-9715



Jamie Bronstein
History Department
Box 30001 Dept 3H
New Mexico State University
Las Cruces, NM 88003
(505) 646-4200

Derek Blakeley
Department of History
PO Box 92860
McNeese State University
Lake Charles, LA 70601
(337) 475-5593

Greg T. Smith
Department of History
University of Manitoba
411 Fletcher Argue Bldg.
Winnipeg, MB R3T 5V5
(204) 474-7216

2017 Program Chair (NACBS)
Krista Kesselring
NACBS Program Chair
Professor of History
Dalhousie University

2015 Program Co-Chairs
Jessica Sheetz-Nguyen
Department of History
University of Central Oklahoma
100 North University Drive
Edmond, OK 73034

Lynn MacKay
Department of History
307 Clark Hall
Brandon University
Brandon MB  R7A 6A9 CANADA

2016 McJimsey Graduate Essay Prize Committee
Michael Rutz (Chair)
University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh
Department of History
Clow Faculty
800 Algoma Boulevard
Oshkosh, WI 54901-8671

Dr. Jodie Kreider, University of Denver

Dr. Padraic Kennedy, York College

2017 Local Arrangements
Marjorie Levine-Clark, University of Colorado at Denver

Andrew Muldoon, Metropolitan State University of Denver


Regional affiliate conferences in British Studies:

Mid-Atlantic Conference on British Studies (MACBS)

Mid-West Conference on British Studies (MWCBS)

Northeast Conference on British Studies (NECBS)

Pacific Conference on British Studies (PCCBS)

Southern Conference on British Studies (SCBS)

Western Conference on British Studies (WCBS)


Past WCBS Presidents

2014-16: Christopher Frank, University of Manitoba

2012-14: Greg Smith, University of Manitoba

2010-12: Jamie Bronstein, NMSU

2008-10: David Hudson, Texas A&M

2006-08: Marjorie Levine-Clark, University Colorado at Denver

2004-06: J. Lee Thompson, Lamar University

2002-04: Richard Cosgrove, University of Arizona

2000-02: Larry Witherell, Minnesota State University, Mankato

1999-00: R.J.Q. Adams, Texas A&M

1997-99: Roy Matthews, Michigan State University

1995-97: Bob McJimsey, Colorado College

1993-95: Jim Rosenheim, Texas A&M

1991-93: Jane Veith, Michigan State University

1989-91: Hew Joiner, Georgia Southern

1988-89: Hal Smith, University of Houston, Victoria

1987-88: Charles Middleton, University of Colorado

1986-87: Nancy Sidener, Louisiana Council on Economic Education

1985-86: Tom Kennedy, University of Arkansas

1984-85: Darrell Munsell, West Texas State University

1983-84: Richard Cosgrove, University of Arizona

1982-83: Neil Kunze, Northern Arizona University

1980-82: R.J.Q. Adams, Texas A&M

1978-80: Henry Weisser, Colorado State University

1974-78: Robert Cole, Utah State University