Upcoming Meeting

San Antonio TX, September 28-29, 2018 Annual Meeting

Plans are well under way for the 2018 meeting of the Western Conference on British Studies to be held in San Antonio, Texas. We hope you will join us!

San Antonio is a wonderfully easy meeting place, with historic sites and the fabulous River Walk for dining and entertainment. Registration for our 2018 WCBS meeting in San Antonio TX is now open.  You can download the WCBS 2018 Registration Form here. This year’s keynote speaker is Carla Pestana, Professor and Joyce Appleby Endowed Chair of America in the World at UCLA. We will also hear the traditional address given by the outgoing WCBS President, Andrew Muldoon (Metropolitan State University of Denver).

The WCBS Program Committee, co-chaired by Susan Grayzel and Joseph Ward of Utah State University, is pulling together a meeting that promises to be both interdisciplinary and wide-ranging in its temporal span. Scholars of Britain, the British Atlantic World, and the British Empire broadly defined are invited to participate.

The draft program may be found here.

If you have questions about the submission process or suggestions for program development, please contact:

Susan Grayzel or Joe Ward
WCBS Program Co-Chairs
Utah State University
Email: or

Hotel Bookings and Local Information: Transport, Dining, Sights

Our conference hotel is the Sheraton Gunter Hotel. The conference rate of $139/night is available from Thursday, September 27 through Saturday September 29.  The conference sessions will run on Friday September 28 and Saturday September 29. Please mention the WCBS when making your hotel reservations.



Past & Future Meetings

2023: T.B.A. (with NACBS)

2022: T.B.A.

2021: T.B.A.

2020: T.B.A.

2019: Salt Lake City, UT

2018: San Antonio, TX

2017: Denver, CO (with NACBS)

2016: Tempe, AZ

2015: Austin, TX

2014: Calgary, AB

2013: Kansas City, MO

2012: Las Vegas, NV

2011: Denver, CO (with NACBS)

2010: Austin, TX

2009: Tempe, AZ

2008: San Antonio, TX

2007: Albuquerque, NM

2006: Dallas, TX

2005: Denver, CO (with NACBS)

2004: San Antonio, TX

2003: Tucson, AZ

2002: Little Rock, AR

2001: Houston, TX

2000: Denver, CO

1999: Tucson, AZ

1998: Colorado Springs, CO (with NACBS)

1997:  Fort Worth, TX


1995:  Houston, TX

1994:  Fayetteville, AR

1993:  Albuquerque, NM

1992:  Boulder, CO


1990:  Snowbird, UT

1989:  Austin, TX


1987:  Lincoln, NB

1986:  Denver, CO

1985:  San Antonio, TX



Leave a Reply