Student Research Days: Innovators, Collaborators

June 28, 2012 at 6:30 pm

Our campus was abuzz earlier this month with student and graduate researchers from across the country sharing knowledge, presenting posters, networking, engaging with renowned scientific researchers and discovering what the University of Manitoba has to offer.

More than 270 of Canada’s top health research students and postdoctoral fellows descended upon Bannatyne Campus to celebrate the 25th annual Canadian Student Health Research Forum hosted by the University of Manitoba Faculty of Medicine under the leadership of Assistant Dean, Graduate Studies Dr. Ed Kroeger.

Our University of Manitoba graduate students did exceptionally well, winning three gold and four silver awards in the poster competition, our best results to date and one of the strongest showing by any Faculty.

U of M graduate students are clearly benefitting from our emphasis on mentorship and presentation skills in the Faculty of Medicine. Overall, judges were impressed by the quality of the posters and students were thrilled to meet colleagues and create new collaborations and connections.

The 4th annual Canadian National Medical Student Research Symposium was also held in conjunction with the forum and was another success. It promotes interaction between medical and basic science students engaged in translational, clinical and population health research. It highlights the intellectual environment and career opportunities for research in Manitoba.

Led Dr. Kent HayGlass, Director, Advanced Degrees in Medicine, the CNMSRS attracted 62 undergraduate medical students from 15 of 17 Canadian medical schools. This represented an increase this year of 42 per cent more external researchers and 50 per cent more U of M student researchers participating in the symposium.

The Canadian Student Health Research Forum also featured a one-day symposium on Inflammation and Health with lectures by some of the world’s leading scientists.

Congratulations to the following award recipients at the Canadian Student Health Research Forum:
Mentorship Award
Dr. Sharon Bruce
• Karol D. McNeill Research Technician Award
Thane Maddaford
• Ken Hughes Young Investigator Award for Medcial Research
Dr. Cynthia Ann Ellison
• Outstanding Contribution to Research Award
Allen Rouse, chair, Manitoba Medical Service Foundation

Rouse served on the board of the Manitoba Medical Service Foundation (MMSF) for 41 years, the last 36 years as chair. He was instrumental in the formation of the MMSF. With the introduction of Medicare, it was his vision, shared by others, to create a lasting legacy for health research and education from the funding remaining in Manitoba Medical Services.

The MMSF proudly supported by Manitoba Blue Cross, has invested cumulatively over $18-million in health research and education and, through partnerships with other local funding agencies, has networked and leveraged this investment.

The MMSF is a valued resource to young Manitoba Health researchers and a vital component of our health research community.

Research Days was just one of many excellent accomplishments by the Faculty of Medicine over the last year.

I want to thank everyone for their hard work and hope you have a great summer!