UGME Accreditation: Thank you!

May 10, 2019 at 1:46 pm

Max Rady College of Medicine in the Rady Faculty of Health Sciences demonstrates commitment to social accountability with programs like First Nations Science Camp.

Our UGME Accreditation survey took place April 28 – May 1, 2019. I’m pleased to report that our preliminary feedback was very positive. The final decision remains with the Committee on Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools (CACMS.)

Overall, it was an outstanding effort by everyone involved across the Max Rady College of Medicine. Thank you to all of the deans, department heads, faculty, senior administrators, support staff, learners and our many partners and affiliates who have contributed to our UGME program and to the accreditation process!

The surveyors cited our college’s commitment to social accountability as a leader amongst Canadian medical schools. As well, the surveyors commended our leadership in academics and health care in the province and they pointed to the successful implementation of the new UGME curriculum, led by Dr. Ira Ripstein and developed under the leadership of Dr. Keevin Bernstein, director of curriculum renewal, and Dr. Diane Moddemann, director of curriculum. I want to sincerely thank and acknowledge the hard work and contributions of Drs. Bernstein, Modedemann and Ripstein – and the many faculty and staff involved – to our new UGME curriculum.

We can all be proud of the many accomplishments and improvements we have implemented over the last several years to benefit our learners, learning environment, faculty and our MD program as a whole.

I want to thank the members of the self-study steering committee: Dr. Aaron Chiu, associate dean, quality improvement and accreditation; Dr. Ira Ripstein, associate dean, UGME; Dr. Peter Cattini, head, physiology/pathophysiology; Dr. Eric Jacobsohn, associate dean, PGME student affairs; Dr. George Zhanel, professor, medical microbiology/infectious diseases; Dr. Jenna McNaught, program director -UGME, obstetrics/gyneccology; Dr. Michael Semus, co-program director –PGME, internal medicine; Erin McAndrew-MMSA; Helen Teklemariam-MMSA; Lucas Vasas-MMSA; Richard Zhang-MMSA; Ricardo Soriano, director, integrated accreditation unit.

I want to sincerely thank and recognize the Manitoba Medical Students’ Association (MMSA) for their hard work, insight and student-led hospital visits during the survey under the leadership of senior stick Christopher Briggs; and Jaymie Walker and Alyssa Archibald, who oversaw the Independent Student Analysis survey and wrote the final ISA report.

I am grateful to our partners who we collaborate with year-round in ensuring our MD program is successful: Karen Herd, deputy minister, Manitoba Health; Beth Beaupre, assistant deputy minister, MB Health; Dr. Brock Wright, CEO, Shared Health; Dr. Perry Gray, Vice-President & CMO, HSC; Real Cloutier, President & CEO, WRHA; Dr. C. Scott Brudney, Executive Director Clinical Programs & CMO, St. Boniface Hospital; CancerCare Manitoba; Doctors Manitoba; College of Physicians & Surgeons of Manitoba  and all of the regional health authorities and our other partners and research affiliates.

I also want to sincerely thank the sub-committee chairs for their tireless efforts: Dr. Terry Klassen, head, pediatrics/child health; Dr. Michael West, associate dean, professionalism; Dr. Gabor Fischer, head, pathology; Dr. Sara Israels, vice-dean, academic affairs, RFHS; Dr. Eberhard Renner, head, internal medicine; Raman Dhaliwal, director, administration/operations, RFHS; Dr. Dave McCrea, director, pre-clerkship curriculum committee; Dr. Jim Butler, director, clerkship curriculum committee; Dr. Maury Pinsk, director of UGME curriculum and chair, curriculum implementation committee; Dr. Jose Francois, head, family medicine; Dr. Barry Cohen, director of UGME student evaluations and chair, progress committee; Dr. Alecs Chochinov, head, emergency medicine; Dr. Bruce Martin, director of admissions, UGME; Dr. Louise Simard, associate dean, graduate studies, former-head, biochemistry/medical genetics;  Dr. Sally Longstaffe, senior academic advisor, UGME student affairs; Dr. Kurt Skakum, director of PGME accreditation and allocations.

Lastly, I want to thank our seven external surveyors for their deep commitment to excellence in medical education and professionalism and thoughtfulness throughout the accreditation survey visit.

We appreciate the efforts of many of our colleagues on Bannatyne campus who provided excellent service throughout the survey visit: Aramark Catering, Housekeeping, Neil John Maclean Health Sciences Library, Physical Plant and Security Services.

While accreditation surveys occur every eight years, accreditation itself is not an end point. The College – and our student body – have demonstrated tremendous commitment to the Max Rady College of Medicine, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences and indeed, to quality improvement in all aspects of our undergraduate medical education throughout the UGME accreditation process.

We view the accreditation process as an ongoing opportunity to evaluate and enhance the education, the learning environment and to improve accountability to the public we serve.